Strategic Scholars Participants

Each year, we select a cohort of Strategic Scholars to participate in training and coaching opportunities with the goal of building new skills and completing a performance improvement project to implement within their agencies. This page lists all current and past participants of the Strategic Scholars program.

Resource Management Cohort – 2023

Denton County Public Health
Catherine Sembajwe-Reeves, Jennifer Romaszewski, Leti Chonay and Tammy Eoff

Multnomah County Health Department
Sarina Saturn, Jennifer Moore, Nathan Wickstrom, and Anna Dyer

Maricopa County Department of Public Health (AZ)
Alison Zuercher, Jana Lafreniere, Christine Samuel, Rhonda Hall, and Nina Lindsey    

Puerto Rico Department of Health
Lourdes Romero Reyes, Gloria Bezares Salina, Brenda Castro Voltaggio, Melanie Ortiz Toro, and Miguel Miranda Paģan

Norwalk health Department (CT)
Aniella Fignon, Darleen Hoffler, Brian Weeks, Deanna D’Amore, and Megan Faugno.

Resource Management Cohort – 2022

Winnebago County Health Department
Cynthia Hall, Amanda Lindig, Antwon George, Eddie Cintron, Neva Ramos, and Michael Wood

Lawrence-Douglas County Public Health
Kate Harper, Christine Ebert, Katie Bieker, and Stacey Rollins

Stanislaus County Health Service Agency
Lise Talbott, Andria Jimenez, Sandra Buecher, Willie Mixon, and Amy Origel Jenkins    

City of Portland, Maine
Hayley Prevatt, Bridget Rauscher, Alex Hughes, Tina Pettingill, Kirsten Goodrich, and Catherine Hooper

Miami County Health Department, KS
Christena R. Beer, Meckenzie Kelly, K.D. Pond, Angie Anderson, and Tatiana Darby

Gallatin City-County Health Department
Lori Christenson, Travis Horton, Anna Synder, and Sarah Dobson

Clermont County Public Health Dept.
Katrina Stapleton, Tara Jimison, and Maalinii Vijayan

Change Management Cohort – 2021

Linn County Public Health
Pramod Dwivedi, James Hodina, Amy Hockett, Robin Raijean, Diane Midcalf, and Wanda Rieter-Kintz

San Juan Basin Public Health
Adrian Uzunian, Shannon Shropshire, Sherri Dugdale, and Jenny Howell

Kentucky Department for Public Health
Janie Cambron, Carissa Adams, Carrie Conia, Tricia Okeson, Nicole Barber-Culp, and Elizabeth Goode

Stanislaus County Health Services Agency – Public Health (CA)
Lori Williams, Barbara Vassell, Chelsey Donohoo, Brianna Padua, Tiawny Murphy, and Amy Origel-Jenkins

New Orleans Health Department
Chantell Reed, Jodi Dyer, Kaitlyn Fortuna and Glenn Richard Constable

Texas Department of State Health Services – Laboratory Services Section
Lisa Hutson, Priscilla Trevino Gonzales, Vanessa Telles, Ivan Dudik, Kimberly Hamilton, and Brent Pav

Boston Health Commission
Agathe Hoffer-Schaefer, Sunday Taylor, Shannon O’Malley, and Laura Baker

Resource Management (Fall) Cohort – 2020

Allegheny County Health Department
Alaina Conner and Keith Horner

Commonwealth Healthcare Corporation
Jodina Attao and Shawnalei Ogumuro

Tuscaroras County Health Department
Natasha Yonley and Caroline Terkedis

Durham County Department of Public Health
Lindsey Bickers Bock and Rod Jenkins

Georgia Department of Public Health
Chanelle Avila and William Bell

Metro Public Health Department of Nashville
Celia Larson and KaShawna Lollis

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
Lee Pearson and Marica Mahaney

Navajo County Public Health Services District
Tanya Baker and Susan Hilgart

Pitkin County Public Health
Suzuho Shimasaki and Linzhi Douglass

Waushara County Health Department
Brenna Root and Jennifer Pulvermacher

Resource Management (Spring) Cohort – 2020

Read this CDC Field Notes feature highlighting the Portsmouth Health District Strategic Scholars Program project that sought to assess staff and financial resource alignment with changing agency priorities. 

Kane County Health Department Henry County General Health District
Sharon Meece and Joy Ermie

Kane County Health Department
Kelly Howell and Uche Onwuta

Kent County Health Department
Janine O’Donnell and Leslie Griswold

Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health – Bureau of Family Health
Cara McCarthy and Tisha Reed

Norwalk Health Department
Theresa Argondezzi and Deanna D’Amore

Portsmouth Health Department
Anne Dumadag and Avanti Allen-Bensen

Puerto Rico Department of Health
Lisa A. Soto-Torres and Betty Díaz Díaz

Siouxland District Health Department
Leann Orr and Deb Lemmon

State of Alaska, Division of Public Health
Lisa McGuire and Britten Burkhouse

Winnebago Comprehensive Healthcare System
Linae Bigfire and Mona Zuffante

Systems Thinking Cohort – 2019

Barron County Public Health
Mackenzie Cole and Bethany Wood

Iowa Department of Public Health
Thomas Salter and Marisa Roseberry

Lakes Regional Healthcare
Brandon Rohrig

Jackson County Health Department
Michael Onsongo, Tammy Landrum, and Amanda Mason

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Cristi Cain and Katie Mahuron

Saline County Health Department
Jason Tiller

Reno County Health Department
Michelle Patton, Stephanie King, and Candace Davidson

Connect with us:

Twitter LinkedIn YouTube
Google Plus email
Connect With Us:
Subscribe To Our Communications